cemetery run 2010 – part two

The second part of our annual cemetery run included a trip to Inglewood Park Cemetery and Riverside National Cemetery. They’re a couple of hours apart (in good traffic), so it was a long day. Fortunately, it was a beautiful day until about 3:30 in the afternoon when it started turning dark and chilly. We survived.

First stop – Inglewood Park Cemetery.

My brother Gary is buried here, as are my Auntie Eleanor, Auntie Ethel, Uncle Willy and cousin Ceresia.

Gary William Johnson lived 22 days. He was born prematurely and, 57 years ago, his internal problems couldn’t be corrected.

Minda Ceresia Barrett, my cousin, was three months old when she died. She’s buried seven spaces down from Gary.

Eleanor Cradic, my aunt, was only42 years old when she died from cancer.

Ethel Keddy, my aunt and Eleanor’s sister, also died from cancer. Eleanor and Ethel were both my dad’s sisters (dad also succumbed to cancer).

Willis Keddy, my uncle, was Auntie Ethel’s husband.

Two last headstones… Judy Ann Bilbrey is buried next to Gary, and we’ve always decorated her grave as if she was a member of our family. In all the years we’ve done this ( we’ve only missed a handful in 57 years), her grave has never been visited or decorated by anyone other than us as far as we know. That’s sad. So my family “adopted” her so that she wasn’t completely alone and forgotten.

Gayle Lynn Bremer is on the other side of Gary and, like Judy, has never been visited as far as we know, so we “adopted” her, too. (we finished decorating both graves after we to0k these pictures)

***************************************

Now… the second half of part two: Riverside National Cemetery. We have three family members buried there:

My dad, Glenn Eldon Johnson

My cousin, Clint Smith

My cousin Larie’s dad, Clarence Woelke (aka Chip)

(all three graves were decorated after these photos were taken)

As we left Riverside National we stopped for a short visit with the geese (we forgot to bring them bread!) and then headed home.

3 responses to “cemetery run 2010 – part two

  1. How nice that you adopted the little grave….. I love visiting cemeteries and researching the past.
    In our little local cemetery (where my husband and I will end up) is a stone for Sterling Lemmons… for some reason I just love that name. If i ever write a novel, he will be my main character.

  2. Awww that’s so lovely that you make time to visit all of these graves – and at Christmas time which should be about family. I think it’s also so beautiful that you look after neighbouring friends of your darling baby brother Gary – I’m sure that they’re all very grateful.

    When I visit my sister’s graves I often place a flower or two on other people’s stones – who appear to have no one to love them. I spend ages walking around, tidying other graves up and straightening blown-over flowers and ornaments. Loved ones pass over themselves and so in time, most graves become unattened – and I too think that’s so sad. Thank God for wonderful people like you.

    Happy 2011 to you and yours.

    Love Al x

    • wanderingseniors

      I’m happy to know you give flowers to others, too. I know several people that never visit their departed relatives, but they were just raised that way. It still seems so sad to me, though.

      Hope you have a wonderful – and less busy – 2011. More baubles & wine, less work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

