folk music

I’m sitting here watching John Sebastian Presents: Folk Rewind on KCET (public television)… and singing along with all those great songs from my youth and teen years.

Can it really be 40-some-odd years ago that Peter, Paul & Mary recorded Bob Dylan’s Blowin’ In The Wind (and turned it into a huge hit)? Today I had the pleasure of hearing the Chad Mitchell Trio sing their rendition, which was actually the first version recorded by someone other than Dylan.

When’s the last time you heard Eve of Destruction (Barry McGuire) on the radio? Late ’60s maybe? I really can’t remember, but I know it’s been many, many years ago. It’s good to see/hear him still singing his hit song.

Ahhh, a standing ovation for Jesse Colin Young of the Youngbloods singing Get Together, one of my all-time favorite songs. “C’mon people now, smile on your brother…”

Hey, how come Roger McGuinn (from the Byrds) hasn’t aged over the years? Poor memory on my part, you say? Ok, I’ll accept that. But he still sounds wonderful singing Turn, Turn, Turn. Thank goodness I haven’t lost my hearing. Yet.

It’s not often I hear someone say they love folk music.  Thank you, John, for showing us that it still lives in the hearts of so many fans.

3 responses to “folk music

  1. Wow – Eve of destruction – that brings back childhood memories! Not the first time it was released admittedly – but my eldest sister had it on single and I always loved that song as a kid! I’m off to listen to it on You Tube – thanks for that. Hope you’re well xxx

  2. wanderingseniors

    Nice to know you watched it! I’ve seen it two more times since I posted this. I didn’t know public television shows were broadcast in Canada, too. By the way, I love your cat helping with the package. Our cats are always “helping” us.

  3. I watched it too – it was great!

Leave a Reply

