surprise!

Last night my son called about 8 p.m. to say hello. After a few minutes of chit-chat he asked if I’d mind if he and his wife came by to wash some clothes and use the bathroom.

huh?

They live 400 miles away.

“Does he realize who he called?,” I wondered.

After a long pause (while I was trying to clear my confusion… or his), he said, “I’m at the door!”

huh? (again)

What a wonderful surprise! Visits are always planned and greatly anticipated. After all, it IS a long trip, made longer by the fact that they drove this time. I guess the fact that we are creatures of habit made it a good bet that I would be home. They were right.

I couldn’t stop smiling and laughing and kept thinking that I was going to wake up and it would have all been a dream. I still can’t believe they just decided to come for a surprise visit! I hope it happens more often.

They said they came down to bring us souvenirs from their recent trip to Hawaii. Yes, a personal visit is much better than mailing a package.

See what they brought us…

We have here yummy chocolate covered macadamia nuts, a very cool tiki, 2 packages of li hing mui (Hawaiian crack seed, aka dried plums and cherries – good stuff!), a honu (turtle) luggage tag (love it!), a humuhumunukunukuapuaa luggage tag (love it, too!) and a beautiful handmade Hawaiian print photo album. Wonderful gifts.

We have great kids.

Ok, so after the shock of them just showing up subsided a bit, we decided we should make a surprise visit to my brother. After a quick call to make sure he and his family were home, we buzzed over there and – surprise! – look who’s here. Another round of smiles and laughter. Lots of fun.

Now… since Mr WS was at work, the decision was made to let the kids surprise him in the morning.

A few minutes after Mr WS got up, our son came over and was peeking in the den window, so I told him that a cat he likes was outside, knowing that he’d turn around to see the cat. He did. “What?” he said, taken aback at the sight of someone looking at him through the window. A couple of seconds later he realized who it was and was just as shocked and happy as I had been. More laughing and smiles.

The kids left this morning after a nice brunch with the whole family and one of my son’s friends. It was a short visit with the folks that made our whole day… no, weekend… no, month. Yes, it made our whole month. Still can’t believe they did it.

I’m still smiling.

Thanks Jeff & Vanessa 🙂

5 responses to “surprise!

  1. HI – you ok? you haven’t bloged in a while ;-0 missing your lovely stories x

  2. Thats such a sweet story! We surprised my parents like that once. My sister had been away travelling around the world and we hadn’t seen her for about 5 years. She phoned me up from India out of the blue saying “I’m coming home next week, please come and get me from the airport, don’t tell Mum and Dad!” So I told our parents I had their Anniversary present to bring them, and that they were to stay inside with their eyes closed when I got there and not look out the window as it was too big to wrap up. I can still remember their faces when I said “Open your eyes!” They both sat there for what felt like ages while it sank in that their daughter was standing right in front of them! Priceless 🙂

    • wanderingseniors

      I love this story! I can imagine the shock & happiness your parents felt and undoubtedly they relive it from time to time with big smiles. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  3. Awwww absolutely lovely!! You’ve obviously brought him up well 😉 Family are important. I’m off to see my parents this weekend too – they’re elderly now so I go down as often as I can. They’re 100 miles away. We speak on the phone every other day – but there’s nothing nicer than going to visit – and as surprise is even better!!! XXX

  4. What a lovely surprise! Sounds like you had a great week-end. x

Leave a Reply

