Tomatoes!

Finally! Two beautiful, ripe tomatoes from our garden. There’s nothing as good as just-picked tomatoes still warm from the sun. These were gobbled up moments after I took this photo. Yum!
IMG_0003

Actually, these are tomatoes #3 & #4. The very first two tomatoes had blossom end rot, making them inedible for us, but the birds enjoyed them. After watering with a solution of Epsom salt and water, we haven’t had any more blossom end rot.

Here’s something fun: We’ve got bok choi and romaine lettuce growing in our kitchen garden window. I cut off the bases of several bunches of each, placed them in water, and now new bunches are growing. Aren’t they cute? Give it a try!

IMG_0011 (2)

I did the same thing with green onions and have had a continuous supply of them for several months now. Who knew?

green onions

2 responses to “Tomatoes!

  1. Very cool. I’ll have to learn how to grow all these for myself at some point.

    • wanderingseniors

      It’s not too hard and I’ll probably have organic heirloom seeds of all kinds on hand to send to you (I plan on trying my hand at seed saving).

Leave a Reply

